Good card for a simple PSU

G

Hi, I have a Cooler Master 500w PSU with only 1 6pin adapter and 2 18amp 12v rails.
My question is, can I run a good graphics card on this PSU? or is upgrading my only option???

This is my future build that I need the card for:
msi p55 gd65
4gb ddr3
1 250gb hdd
1 optical drive
core i5 stock speed/stock cooling
500w psu

I like games like GTA IV (PC) and NFS

can anyone suggest a pci x16 2.0 card that could run these games on playable settings with my psu, thnx

wiinippongamer

Distinguished

neonmonkey

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2009
it is empossible to bottleneck a processor with a low power graphics card. it is the other way around.
I have a 410 watt psu (it isnt name brand or anything) and i have a geforce 9800 gt and it powers if fine

wiinippongamer

Distinguished

i said the gpu may bottleneck because of the psu. not the card bottlenecking the processor

G

if my psu can run it at 1280x1024 then thats great but i will be happy with 600x800 as long as it does not look like a slideshow 30fps and above, running gta isnt a problem for me, i ran it on 9400gt, i just dont want it to freeze everytime i drive to fast or something explodes in the game

G

thanks for the link, i didnt know that, but since i dont have a lot of hardware most of that 360 will go to the card, the problem is that most of the high end cards i checked needed more then 500, especially the gtx cards, i dont care about company (ati/nvidia) price performance ratio is the most important for me