Good Mic's for surroud sound speakers?

Dean Wilkinson

Honorable
Apr 16, 2013
I have a 5.1 surrond sound setup, and don't want a headset, but I would like a decent Microphone.

Biggest issue being I obvious don't want it to pick up too much from the speakers.

I have very little experience in audio hardware, so not sure whats a ideal choice and open to suggestion.

Cheaper is better, but quality is still important.

Solution
doesn't matter what mic you use, if your speakers are outputting a loud enough sound, it will pick up the vibrations.

But usually microphones with a low decibel setting can allow it to not pick up sounds as easy.

Using a mic with an amp controller that can allow you to lower the decibel sensitivity can be good as well.

So it really comes down to how loud you are running your speakers.
You can of course set up push to talk with whatever service you use to communicate to people so that the only time audio comes through is when you press the push to talk button you set up on you keyboard to talk.

At which point what I can do is recommend different microphone options for you based on mic quality and price.

I've personally been using...

QwerkyPengwen

Splendid
Ambassador
doesn't matter what mic you use, if your speakers are outputting a loud enough sound, it will pick up the vibrations.

But usually microphones with a low decibel setting can allow it to not pick up sounds as easy.

Using a mic with an amp controller that can allow you to lower the decibel sensitivity can be good as well.

So it really comes down to how loud you are running your speakers.
You can of course set up push to talk with whatever service you use to communicate to people so that the only time audio comes through is when you press the push to talk button you set up on you keyboard to talk.

At which point what I can do is recommend different microphone options for you based on mic quality and price.

I've personally been using the Samson GO mic for a while and love it.