[SOLVED] Gopro and needing to upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

ultrarr

Reputable
Dec 26, 2014
I got a Gopro 4 recently and have come to find out my the PC I built years can't handle video editing. Go figure! So because I'd like to actually use the Gopro I'll need to upgrade in the coming months. I'm a beginner with with video so I don't need to do anything complex but I do want to edit in HD, 1080.... just some simple editing and be able to upload it to youtube and such. I'd like to move to a Mac platform. Reason being is it's just simple. I work with PC's and deal with issues all day so I just want to have something that simply, works. Everything else is just basic computing and entertainment stuff. No gaming.

What do you think work well for this? I was looking at some of the older Mac Pro Towers and they aren't very expensive on Craigslist these days. The specs don't look great but every time I think a Mac shouldn't do something as well as a PC spec wise, I'm wrong and it can. So I don't know. I kind of give up there. It can a notebook, I don't go mobile often but just putting it out there. I can see where it would be nice.

Thanks everyone!

Solution
A lot of the Mac computers that they sell today would fit your needs. In my opinion, here are your options. I'm disregarding your budget just to show you everything with their upsides and downsides.

Short answer: Mac Mini is, in my opinion, the best way to go for your needs.

Mac Pro: This is the higher end of what you want. Based on your needs, I personally think this is overkill. It's also one of the most expensive macs out there (if not the most expensive) (all depends on which processor you buy it with). If you want a computer that's capable of a lot more stuff than what you are describing, get this computer. Also, while it may be a bit overkill for video editing, it should run completely smooth and crystal clear while editing...

Ramjet151

Honorable
Oct 12, 2013