Question Got a 3950x. First time build. Making an After Effects workstation. Help me choose a good Mobo for my utility/PCI-E Lane Requirements.

beyondabraxas

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2012
I got lucky and landed a Ryzen 3950x . So outside the CPU, I need to figure out the rest. An appropriate Mother Board that meets my PCI-E needs being the first priority.
___
About my Utility
___
I work as an After Effects artist on 2D Animation (and sometimes Premiere). Premiere is its own beast, but After Effects can be a lot more demanding of RAM and disk cache depending on your projects, I work on several Pro Res 4444 Alpha video layers simultaneously stacked to composite scenes and heavy PSD backgrounds as I layer in effects via plug-ins or other video assets, so peak I/O for all footage is important.

I've done a fair amount of research into what is the best Drive configuration for my particular needs. I'm referencing pugetsystem's drive config tests from 2016 in premiere as reference, as well as my own experience at work)*

____

Potential Drive Configuration
____

- 🔴 DRIVE 1 [OS / APPS] 1TB SATAIII 860Pro maybe (Anything more would be overkill I think)

Partitioned into 2 parts - One Smaller partition that I will make a backup image used for OS and Apps, The other bigger one for Steam Games that I won't be imaging.

- 🔴 DRIVE 2 [PROJECTS FILES, FOOTAGE AND VIDEO ASSETS] 1TB 970 Pro M.2 (3500mb/s)

4K Footage, 4K Alpha ProRes4444 Animation Layers & Numerous 4K Effects Videos, lots of videos that are going to be stacked and read at the same time in after effects.

- 🔴 DRIVE 3 [SCRATCH/CACHE] 500GB or 1TB 970 Pro M.2 (3500mb/s)

After Effects gobbles up Cache and Scratch, so will premiere. More space and speed the better.

- 🔴 DRIVE 4 & 5 [SATA3 3.5" & 2.5 inch DUAL DRIVE HOT SWAP BAY FOR ARCHIVAL]