GPU Computing, CPU and RAM Requirements?

shmoo

Honorable
Oct 25, 2013
Hello all,

I'm about to start a new build that will be used for gaming and playing around with GPU computing (I'm a CS grad student who wants to play around at home with some different algos implemented on gpu's).

As far as GPU's go, I plan on waiting till the spring for volta to be released, at which point I'll be looking at volta GPU's, as well as possibly the pascal titan if the price drops a lot and it seems better for my needs. Not sure about single/sli configuration yet.

I'm a bit concerned about bottlenecks related to CPU and RAM. For the work I'll be doing, there will be a lot of reading and writing large datasets to and from the GPU(s), which may have up to 12 gigs a piece.

2 main points come up.

-I've heard from some that it's ideal to have at least as much system memory as GPU memory, so 2 12 gig GPU's would want at least 24 gigs of ram since information is loaded from SSD to RAM to GPU memory and back. Were I to have less RAM than GPU memory, I would have to do this is multiple batches in order to fill all of the GPU memory. On the flip side, more ram = slower performance for things like gaming. Does anybody have feedback/experience with this?

-CPU requirements: Will a 4-core CPU be a bottleneck for reading/writing between SSD's/RAM/GPU memory? Assume a max of 2 12-gig gpu's and an M.2 SSD with up to 3200 MBps read 1800 MBps write. I'd much rather stick to an LGA 1151 socket.

Is hyper-threading used for these sort of read/write operations? Not sure if an i7 would be a big difference here.

logainofhades

Titan