Jul 18, 2011
Hello Everyone,

I have recently assembled a new pc. Following are my config: -

intel i5 2400 3.1 ghz
intel dh61ww mobo
corsair xms3 ddr3 4 gb RAM
Cooler Master 500w psu
Galaxy GTS 450 GC gpu

I am new to gaming, and had issues while playing games as the pc use to get hang when playing. I had noticed that my fan was not increasing the speed when the temp use to rise and therefore I had increased the fan speed manually by also doing some changes in the registry. But still i find that my temp reaches 80 degrees and above. I am using a software called Xtreme Tuner HD which i downloaded from the manufacturers site (galaxy), from which i increased the fan speed. In this software the following details are mentioned which i can modify except Memory Voltage: -

Memory Voltage - Not Displayed
Core Frequency - 825 Mhz
Shader Processor Frequency - 1650 Mhz
Memory Frequency - 1848 Mhz
Fan Speed - 75%
Core Voltage - 1050 mV

The concern is even after increasing the fan speed the temp reaches 80 degrees and plus, i have not tried playing for long - once the temp reaches 80 degrees i stop playing. Also while playing civilization 5 at 1366*768 resolution (59hz) the game shuts down after 10 or 15 min of play. Following are my questions:

- I wanted to know if by reducing my clock speed, will i be able to reduce the temperature?
- Why does the game shuts down at 1366*768 resolution?
- And also if i want to overclock my gpu do i need to do any changes with the clock speed of cpu (as i dont want to temper with my cpu clock speed)?
- And is it ok if the software is not showing my memory voltage? Does it mean my gpu has some problem or do i need to crack the bios to display/modify the memory voltage?

PS:

Graphic Card Specs: -
CUDA Cores - 192
Graphics Clock (Mhz) - 825
Processor Clock (Mhz) - 1650
Memory Clock (Mhz) - 1848
Memory Amount - 1Gb GDDR5
Memory Interface - 128-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) - 59.1
Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) - 26.4

lothdk

Distinguished