Graphics Card Aftermarket Cooler

Hexa Fox

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2013
Hey guys I was hoping someone could help me out here. I have little experience when it comes to graphics cards. I have a graphics card that I have removed from one of my builds and I am now putting together a build for basic use. I will be using it for stuff like light gaming, light video editing, watching videos, document use, and the like. This is the link to my old graphics card.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202035

The main reason I removed it is because one of the fans on it stopped working properly. Therefore, I am interested in installing an aftermarket cooler to implement it into the new build. I have seen several options like the Morpheus, but seems costly. Especially for a card that is probably not worth much more than that modernly speaking.

Anyway, I see that when people install aftermarket coolers they usually come along with small heat sinks to cover the memory modules on the board. Is this a must? For instance, would something like this replace the stock cooler nicely or should I look elsewhere?

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835119183&cm_re=vga_cooler-_-35-119-183-_-Product

Here is a link to the Morpheus, which I would not mind considering. Perhaps it would be worth it to help cool the card better and give me a little experience messing around with something I am new to. Let met know what you guys think!

werries238

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
Hi,