Graphics card/Drivers crashes, no display and fans spin at 100% speed.

Gimmix

Commendable
Jan 30, 2017
I am pretty new to PCs so please correct me if I get something wrong.

Long Version:

I built a new pc around a week ago, everything was working fine. But, yesterday my gpu crashed 4 times in under 2 hours. I would be doing small things such as chatting on discord with my friends, nothing big like playing triple A games at 4k. It crashes almost spontaneously without any warning, the gpu temperature would be around 30 to 40 degrees, suddenly my monitor would tell me that no display is connected and the gpu fans would be spinning as fast as they could go. I know it is only the gpu that is crashing because i would still be able to talk to my friends on discord, even with the blank screen and all. The first time I restarted the computer, it told me that the drivers crashed and has been fixed and asked me to restart my computer again. I restarted the computer, and it worked fine for another 20 minutes-ish. At first I thought it was because of my overclock, so I turned down everything by 25. I ran heaven benchmark and didn't notice any difference. So I thought I fixed it.

However around another 20 minutes went by and it crashed again, the same thing happened except I didn't receive a message from windows about a driver crashing, which was strange. I thought maybe I don't have the latest drivers, so I went onto Geforce experience and double checked that I had the newest drivers. I decided to completely reset my overclock, turned everything back to normal. But it still crashed more.

I don't use my computer much, so although it has been a week, it was really used for around 10 hours.

Short Version:
- New PC
- Card WAS overclocked at a safe amount (I think)
- used for around 10 hours with nothing weird happening
- suddenly GPU/Driver crashed, display went black and fans started to spin full speed