[SOLVED] gtx 1080 not detected

Dec 27, 2021
hi,
I'm following this guide to hopefully repair my GPU .

linke to guide
my background in electronics is non existent all I have is semeter on basic electronic. I believe I could manage a basic schematic (understand how everything should work based on the schematic ). On the other hand I have very little hands on experience .

now let's go to the meat and potatoes of the conundrum I'm having .
what I know :
1- the capacitors that are associated with the bios are short to ground. Img link
2- the components resistor capacitors fuses in the 1v8 and 1v8_AON line are short to ground here is a pic from the board view

BgJtcnn.png

3 - the inductor that is connected to all of this is the magic 2r2 chip (1.8v has abnormally low resistance around 25 ohms instead of 800 and 0.5v instead of 1.8)
4 - the PEX rails vcore and vmem works as they should we suggest I have a pgood signal from the 1.8v rail.
What I don't understand. : Could the 1.8v rail be faulty and gives the pgood signal to the PEX rail to function properly !?what is the procedure to figure out the causes of the source of the problem !? And if my theory is right can I switch that inductor from another GPU if they are the same size !!?

Last edited:
Solution
To ground , I measured I using a multimeter continuity resistance mode I measured from ground to both sides and they beep on both side and when I measured from the components both terminal they beeped as well they had very low resistance but not 0 .
compared to other components who beep only one side the side that is connected to ground
That is generally not the way to diagnose a graphics card. Not my way anyway.
Also, you would have to measure continuity on a milliohm scale (1/1000 ohm) using a calibrated multimeter and keep polarity in mind while measuring. Beeping mode is not good here, it is like soldering using a welder.

Here is what I would do: