GTX 1080 TI strix hitting power limit on benchmarks

SilverwingX0

Prominent
May 3, 2017
I haven't overclocked a GPU in a long while, and I'm completely new to Pascal, so please correct me if I'm wrong but I was watching a simple overclocking guide to overclock pascal based GPU's and one of the points made was that the card should not be hitting the power limit at stock. Unfortunately that's exactly whats happening to me.

I ran both heaven and firestrike and both benchmarks caused my 1080ti strix to hit it's power limit. I followed up by unlocking the power target slider, unlinked it to GPU temp and set it to 120%. This appeared to ever so slightly reduce the number of times I hit my power limit but it still does quite often in the same benchmarks.

Now my question is, is this normal? I haven't overclocked the card at all, from my understanding, this shouldn't be happening unless I overclocked the card in some way?

Temps never hit above 65C and my top core speed was 1911 Mhz (for only a few seconds). Thanks in advance. :)

tanckattb

Commendable
Jan 31, 2017
This isn't very normal, but all cards of the same model are exactly the same. Sometimes they differ a little in performance or heat dissipation or powe usage. The strix 1080ti has a very large factory overclock if not wrong. Asus intentionally does it so that they gain bigger market share I Guess as the higher clock speed attract more consumers.
So what might be happening is your strix might be hitting its stock power limit of 100%, so since you unlocked he voltage, it gives the strix more power to operate on its factory overclock.

To solve this, you could reduce your core clock speed little by little so that after some adjusting, your card won't hit it's power limit anymore.

: D