GTX 260 Screen Tearing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerkinjohn

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2009
I have my PC hooked up to my Sony 26" LCD TV via HDMI. The native screen resolution is 1366X768 and I have the PC set at 1360X768. I am using a Evga GTX 260 GPU not OC at the moment.

For the most part COD looks totally awesome and am having alot of fun with it as this is my first build gaming PC. I am however noticing some screen tearing during certain parts of game play. Is this due to my TV not being able to keep up with my FPS?

I read that if I turn vsync on in the game options that it will eliminate the screen tearing but doesn't it also kill my FPS?

Thanx

jzsang

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2008

Turn vsync on. The tearing will go away and the frames won't go down that much. After all, you are playing COD with a decent gpu at a reasonable resolution. It would be a different story if you were trying to play Crysis at 1920 x 1080.

jerkinjohn

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2009

Ok I turned it on and it DOES clear the screen tearing right up! ;) Now is that because there is so much going on in COD and once I get a decent monitor that will help to right? Cause I also play Live For Speed a sim racing game and I don't get any screen tearing what so ever with that game.

Next week I'm picking up Crysis so I will probably have to turn vsync on with that as well. COD still looks sweet with it on! I really can't tell any difference in the graphics or anything. It just fixed my screen tearing :D

IzzyCraft

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2008
If your tv doesn't auto correct this consider looking into your tv options to change the res for that hdmi port to 1360x768. I know i had to change my rez for my tv but your is different model and manufacture.

jzsang

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2008
If you get a better monitor and turn vsync off, the tearing will return. Don't let this discourage you though, a higher resolution always looks better.