Status
Not open for further replies.

iamnewhere

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2010
Hey guys, im getting a GTX480 1536mb card. My question to you guys is this, does this card run at temperatures where it needs to be liquid cooled. I am new to cooling and was wondering if just standard 120mm case fans would be enough. If i run this card with stock case cooling will i run into problems?

I will be running on a 850 psu
i5 760
4 gigs of ram

this is the card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130552

Solution
hey go with the 2 gtx 460's rather then gtx 480 ....
no overheating problem will..
cost will be considerably low...
about same performance...
overclocking them will give you extra performance...
so go with it...

rocky41

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2010
This card indeed have heating issues but with the amount of psu you have it will just work fine and there is no need for liquid cooling my friend just go for the card and enjoy your gaming.

silky salamandr

Distinguished
Sep 16, 2009
If your looking at getting a 480, why dont you look into getting 2 460s in sli? They run circles around the 480 and at a cheaper price also. I got rid of my 480 and went with 2 460s and the performance im getting with them is astounding.

welshmousepk

Distinguished
agree with salamandr.

SLI solution is cheaper, faster and cooler.

its nto the heat of the GPU so much that concerns me with the 480, its the exposed heat plate radiating close to 80 degrees when gaming. to me that just not a healthy system. i would avoid it.

unknown_13

Distinguished
May 12, 2009

How do you mean easy to deal with?

2xGTX460 is a cheaper and more powerfull solution than a single GTX480. Also SLI is very scalable, sometimes reaching even 100%.

unknown_13

Distinguished
May 12, 2009

As i said, 2xGTX460 are faster (sometimes a lot faster) than a single GTX480 and even if they're the same price with a single 480, it's worth it.

unknown_13

Distinguished
May 12, 2009

WTF who told you that! :eek: