[SOLVED] GTX 570 Graphics Card Crashing Computer

Jan 22, 2019
This is my first time building my own rig, please let me know any other information I can provide!

I recently got a new Motherboard and Graphics Card from my brother to update my computer. Everything seems to be going great, until I try to install the GPU.

At first I had the GPU connected to the Mobo and PSU, but I was unable to get to the initial boot screen to load my OS (Windows 10 from DVD). It wouldn't send a signal to the monitor regardless if the HDMI was plugged into the Mobo or the GPU. So I disconnected the GPU from the PSU but left it in the Mobo. Computer was able to boot correctly, load the OS, and I was able to update all the Mobo drivers. I ran it through a couple restarts to make sure it was working then turned the computer off and plugged back in both 6 pin power connectors to the GPU.

Boot takes forever...10 min before I get to the windows login screen (it skips over any other startup screens) and only sends a signal if the HDMI is in the Mobo. Then after about 3 min it starts to freeze (cursor is laggy, unable to use the keyboard) and after about 5 min it freezes completely (clock no longer changes, no cursor visable, keyboard commands do nothing).

I have to hard reboot. If I don't have it connected to the PSU, my computer works fine again.

I've tried about a million things to get it to work. Read many Tom's Hardware questions and still can't make it work. I've tried 3 separate installs and wiped and removed all partitions from my hard drive to ensure a clean install of Windows 10. I'm thinking something happened to it to cause it to be corrupted, but I just want to be sure before I go and buy a new GPU.

Specs
Motherboard:
Gigabyte GA-268XP-UD3P rev 1.0
GPU:
Nvidia EVGA GTX570HD
PSU:
Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W

Solution