Gtx 760 - Low Gpu Usage. Upgrade card or get a new cpu/mobo ??

ushy86

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2008
Here again...

So I picked up a geforce gtx 760 OC card to accompany my older phenom II x4 955 be and noticed in games that my GPU usage is rather low and dips downwards a lot.. and it is never at a high usage unless I run a benchmark (Unigine). I feel the card is under performing, and I was told I'd see quite the difference coming from a 560ti. The card itself, is typically at 40-50% usage, and sometimes, SOMETIMES, hits 75-80 when standing alone. I'm thinking its a cpu botteneck but I'm no professional here, so that is why I'm asking you guys. I have tried clean driver installs with driver sweeper and other recommended trouble-shoots to no avail. So now I have my eyes on a new cpu and motherboard.

Here is what I am thinking of picking up and I have two options, so please enlighten me if I am making a mistake.. I'd rather save some money on this as I just purchased that 760, so keep in mind that if one only renders a bit more performance over the other, I'd prefer the cheaper route.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
+

VS

+

or should i Spend a bit more and get a i5 3750k? Only if the difference will be quite noticeable.

Now, will any of these choices fix my botteneck or could something else be causing this LOW GPU usage on my 760? If so, I have 5 more days to return my card, and could always pick up a 770 or a 280x instead, but if that is the case, I wouldn't be upgrading to a new cpu/mobo combo.

Few questions I need answered please since I have been on the forums here looking for difference perspectives lately:

1. Is there a big difference between the UD3 AND UD3P motherboards, and if so or not, which should I get if I choose to purchase.

2. Is the difference big comparing the fx6350 to a fx8350, or should I just save the $60 and pick up a 6350?