GTX 760 SLI worth it?

Deathwing777

Honorable
Jan 10, 2014
I'm in the process of doing my first DIY computer and I'm trying to pick out a motherboard. However, I need to figure out if I plan to do SLI or not. This is where I need help! I'm looking to get a EVGA GTX 760 SC 2gb video card.

What is the difference between just one of these cards and two and three of them?

How much does a new card add on?

I know that using more than one card does not stack the VRAM. However, do I have to use 2 of the exact same cards to do SLI? Or can use one 2gb and one 4gb and thus save money?

I plan to use this computer for gaming (Skyrim 2k graphics)

Solution
I keep hearing folks say that SLI has lots of problems. That may have been true in years past, but most of those problems are all history now. I have been using SLI and CF for many many years, and I have no issues with either one. Zero. CF had a micro stutter issue with mid and low end cards until they developed Frame Pacing in their newest beta driver. Nvidia doesn't seem to suffer much from that malady. At least I never experienced it. (I did however experience M-S in the past with CF, tho. That was with a pair of HD 6850s)

Be aware that the thread I posted above was started in 2007. All but the most obscure games now have SLI profiles. Every game I've run has done SLI. Most seem to get near the 80% frame rate...

goku1234567890

Distinguished
Well if you are buying a good motherboard have atleast i5 processor and good RAM GTX 760 is more than enough and you might not need another one. While SLI difference of VRAM is a bad idea as higher VRAM graphic card will reduce itself to make itself equal to the graphic card is couping or doing SLI.

Deathwing777

Honorable
Jan 10, 2014
Thanks guys for the answers. That helps out!

I'm most likely going to have an i5-4670 for my CPU. I don't plan on buying two cards now. However, I would like the option to upgrade to SLI in the future.

Deathwing777

Honorable
Jan 10, 2014