[SOLVED] GTX970 SLI in 2019

THpapi

Reputable
Mar 27, 2019
Hey community!
I'm a journeyman builder but have never experimented with SLI. My older rig is about in need of an upgrade. It still games fine on modern titles albeit on medium settings and I usually get less than 144fps on 1080p, but older games and esports generally run at 144 on almost full ultra. I want to be able to get closer to 144 on 1080p ultra on more titles, and with GTX 970's being dirt cheap right now, I thought I might give SLI a try.
I already have MSI z97 SLI Krait edition MOBO
24gb ddr3
i5-4690k@4.5
My PSU is only a 550'r I suspect I need at least 750w for this venture? I would like a suggestion here.
Also, My card is a blower design, I just repasted it so temps are 60c max after hours of gaming at 100%, should I get another identical card or will the 2 blowers right next to each other be too hot? the card is the PNY GTX970, the sku that starts with V (there are 2 and the other starts with a G I think). Alternatively, I could get an EVGA card or MSI card with the 2 fans and use that for the top card? Or I can waterblock both of them but that's a whole nother venture and I'd rather to stick with 1 venture at a time.
Last question, The Bridge. I have a few older SLI bridges laying around that either came with GPU's or Mobo's, will any ol' sli bridge suffice or will there be performance gains with certain after market bridges or would the fancier bridges even be compatible with the 970?
I know its a lot, so quick recap:
  1. RECOMMENDED psu wattage for GTX 970 sli.
  2. 2nd card choice (identical blower card or different 970 with a fan, or "waterblock master race")
  3. SLI bridge recommendation for 1080p 144hz with dual GTX970's
Thanks!

Solution
970's can draw a little north of 200W, each under a torture stress. So a 550W would be cutting it too close for comfort, if you were going this route.