Hard Drive Running Very hot! and possibly failing help

forzahorizon3guy

Honorable
Apr 6, 2018
hard drive possibly failing and super hot the hard drive is in my file server and its clicking

but not very loud like you only hear it if your like a few centimeters from the case but i also put what ever hard drives i can find in the old systems i scrap in it for extra storage but this one is a old seagate barracuda 40GB and also its very hot like hot shower hot and it burns to touch it normal for old drives or impending drive failure and its not realy even clicking its more like a soft taping i cant explain what it sounds like so heres a link to a recording of it sorry for the noise from the fans
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bacJ7gifYU and also you have to listen very closely one more thing it always does this even when completely idle or when under full load 90% of time its just idle i have already started making back up

im sorry if that didn't make sense im not very good at explaining things in a way other people can understand

Solution
Time to dump the drive. That kind of heat is only generated 1 way, lack of lubricant on the shaft the disc's are mounted to. If you are now hearing clicking, that's evidence of wear and it won't be long until that wear creates enough distortion that the disc's either contact the heads or armature, scratching them, of what should be clean lines of data are now wobbly, causing skips and loss of data.

Slave in a new drive, copy the old one and hope you don't have any problems.

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
Time to dump the drive. That kind of heat is only generated 1 way, lack of lubricant on the shaft the disc's are mounted to. If you are now hearing clicking, that's evidence of wear and it won't be long until that wear creates enough distortion that the disc's either contact the heads or armature, scratching them, of what should be clean lines of data are now wobbly, causing skips and loss of data.