Question Hard Freezing On Brand New Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

foxofblades

Prominent
Oct 16, 2018
I'd just like to preface this monumental post by stating that I have already returned the product and am getting a full replacement in a few days, but I'm still nervous that this is going to happen again a third time.

Hello all. Thanks for taking the time to try and help me with this. I appreciate it. I've been tearing my hair out over this issue. I work in IT and this is the first time I've ever experienced anything like this and I'm at my wits end. I've tried literally everything I can think of.

So this first started about two weeks ago. I was playing Rainbow Six Siege on my first rig (Let's call it Rig A). [Rig A](https://www.newegg.com/cyberpowerpc-gxc780/p/N82E16883230316?Item=N82E16883230316) is about two years old and I've never had an issue with it. During gameplay, I was talking to my friends on Discord and having a good 'ol time. And then everything just froze. No movement, no sound, no blue screen, I couldn't do anything. I couldn't Alt + Tab, I couldn't bring up Task Manager. It hard froze. So I turned my computer off and back on again and it booted up just fine. Went right back to my desktop. I relaunched Discord and rejoined my friends call. Not even 5 minutes goes by, hard freeze again. Just in Discord! Nothing else was running! This pattern goes on for about an hour, me restarting my computer, it freezing every 5-10 minutes. I just go to bed out of frustration.