[SOLVED] Hard time with latest upgrade on new build

Aug 20, 2020
Hi everybody. I am a new builder and have been having some trouble with my latest upgrade.
For basically the last month to two months I have been looking for deals where I can find them and trying to save some money.

With my latest upgrade I have added a “new” CPU, a Ryzen 5 2600. I was replacing my old CPU, an AMD A10-9700 that I had pulled from an old system. Up until the latest upgrade, my PC worked fine. I was able to get it to boot and enter the BIOS. The BIOS came up with the message that I would need to setup my new CPU in the BIOS. Looked at how I should setup the new Ryzen and found nothing stating that I should do anything other than saving and exiting. So I did exactly that. About 10-15 seconds later, my system shut down and now will only display a black screen.

So far I have attempted a CMOS reset and swapping back to the old CPU. Everything seems to be turning on hardware wise. My best guess is that my MOBO is done or CPU is defective. I am sure that a question like this has come up at least a million times, but anything helps my friends.

CPU: Ryzen 5-2600
MOBO: Asus a320m-k
RAM: Samsung 8GB-DDR4 @ 2400
GPU: MSI GTX 1660
PSU: Corsair TXM850
SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 500GB

Solution
Okay so looked like the initial problem I was facing was a CMOS reset. I attempted the cmos battery removal technique which I thought I did correctly. Just attempted the jumper method and I was able to get to my BIOS screen. Says that I am currently in version 5222.
Edit: I have the old A10-9700 installed
If you are under under 5222, you have the latest Bios version for this mobo. This is well above the minimum for the 5-2600 which is 3803.
So I would switch off the computer, disconnect from electricity (the wall); take out the old A10-9700 .
Do again a clear CMOS with the jumper. Put the new CPU in place. Try to boot
Aug 20, 2020
Yes you should be able to update.