Question Have Been Having Lots of BSODs and Hard Freezes on a New Computer, Finally Narrowed It Down, Need Help Solving It

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
Just got the PC back and did some work on it, and still crashed. It was stuck in RMA hell that whole time, and got it back Tuesday.. For the update:

GPU was swapped to a EVGA - GeForce RTX 3090 XC3
SSD was swapped to a different one, but the same model. When restoring old files, I saw the serial number was different, but same exact model.
Memory was swapped to same model, different sticks. Can't verify for sure, but they say it happened.
I personally bought and swapped the power supply to a "Seasonic Flagship Prime Series SSR-1000PD 1000W Platinum Full Modular ATX12V & EPS12V 135mm FDB Fan Super Quiet Power Supply" upon RMA return.

Almost every part has been swapped at this point, save for the HDD which is secondary storage, and maybe the CPU? Mobo was switched before if I remember correctly, though there is technically a chance that also did not happen.

Dump 1: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j4q9vfq96zozfd9/082621-8718-01.dmp?dl=0

A second crash happened while typing this up.

Dump 2: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ao4blw58x49nha4/082621-9203-01.dmp?dl=0

All help would be appreciated, as usual.
 
Last edited:

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the 2 new dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/g2zm06ok/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:082621-9203-01.dmp (Aug 26 2021 - 21:16:18)
Bugcheck:UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007F)
Probably caused by:hardware (Process: firefox.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 03 Min(s), and 09 Sec(s)

File information:082621-8718-01.dmp (Aug 26 2021 - 21:12:45)
Bugcheck:PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Probably caused by:hardware (Process: steamcmd.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 38 Min(s), and 53 Sec(s)
This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
IP_MISALIGNED in both dumps.
I think IP = Instruction pointer, its what CPU uses to know what the next instruction should be.
its part of CPU - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Program_counter

one of the few things i didn't check in the last 3 pages is CPU

try running this on cpu (also checks ram) - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html

Its been running for an hour now while I'm also watching videos and I've had no issues yet. I'll keep it running.
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Here's the last dump, let's hope we don't need it. I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/Lv1fat2s/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:082621-9500-01.dmp (Aug 26 2021 - 23:48:05)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3B)
Probably caused by:hardware (Process: Razer Synapse )
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 31 Min(s), and 25 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
Prime95 torture test ran for 12 hours and 27 minutes, across 20 threads, completing somewhere between 145 and 182 tests, and there were 0 errors or warnings on any threads. Surprisingly, no crashes during this testing process, either. I even streamed some video over Plex while it was running.
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
My PC crashed twice after I stepped away for lunch. I returned to a booted, but restarted, PC. Here are the relevant dump files. Note, I had stopped the torture tests by this point.

Dump 1: https://www.dropbox.com/s/5zpdp5cskwc9wcu/082821-7343-01.dmp?dl=0

Dump 2: https://www.dropbox.com/s/98roha3qtz482qq/082821-8937-01.dmp?dl=0

Unsure what else it could be. How is it not any internals, yet also be so sporadic and point to everything and nothing.

Edit: Had a third crash. Dump here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/spmp460jxyigisq/082821-8687-01.dmp?dl=0
 
Last edited:

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/bmryxuL2/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:082821-8937-01.dmp (Aug 28 2021 - 15:01:37)
Bugcheck:KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE (139)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for RzDev_0226.sys
Probably caused by:ntkrnlmp.exe (Process: Razer Synapse )
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 02 Min(s), and 44 Sec(s)

File information:082821-8687-01.dmp (Aug 28 2021 - 16:49:25)
Bugcheck:UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007F)
Probably caused by:ntkrnlmp.exe (Process: GameOverlayUI.)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 47 Min(s), and 25 Sec(s)

File information:082821-7343-01.dmp (Aug 28 2021 - 14:58:09)
Bugcheck:KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (1E)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: FoxitReaderUpd)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 3 Hour(s), 16 Min(s), and 10 Sec(s)
This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.

Edit:
Results from dump file below: https://jsfiddle.net/jrxpbvty/show

File information:082921-9234-01.dmp (Aug 29 2021 - 19:51:59)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:Unknown_Image (Process: ChromaVisualiz)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 6 Hour(s), 43 Min(s), and 41 Sec(s)
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Part of me wants to say its the CPU still but one error did actually blame a driver

KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE (139) is a stack pointer error but it was caused by razer drivers
WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for RzDev_0226.sys
Aug 17 2020RzDev_0226.sysRazer driver
update or remove these

UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007f) was a stack pointer error
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stack_register its on the CPU

CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101) is generally a CPU error.

MIxed signals, why not sure where to look. Dumps aren't revealing causes so I am left to figuring out what it might be.

Shoot me if I asked already but what WIFI card are you using? I don't think its cause, I am just wondering if I can find newer drivers for it.
Jul 09 2019rtwlane.sysRealtek PCI-E Wireless LAN NIC NDIS driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
there might be newer than these.

I have seen someone have problems with soundblaster drivers recently as well
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
Had another crash, and two hard freezes right after: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rgh1ho9h6xcdx1u/083021-7828-01.dmp?dl=0
The crash and first hard freeze happened as I was streaming via Plex and had walked away from the PC. The second hard freeze, I had just turned it back on from the first one and was going to upload the minidump from the BSOD when it froze again, just minutes after being turned on after the first one.

Edit: And another crash, here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tqh8aqarxi89a2p/083021-8234-01.dmp?dl=0
This one hard froze first for a few seconds before it eventually went to a blue screen. Happened just as I paused a YouTube video and scrolled down, probably coincidence though.

Edit 2: Another crash. Seen here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lq0xck53b2jc0ko/083121-8796-01.dmp?dl=0
This one happened right after I closed a program, then got up to walk away for a moment. I can't say for certain, but there does seem to be some correlation between closing a program/ending what I'm doing and it crashing. Maybe freeing up the RAM is causing issues? Though they said they swapped the RAM.

Edit 3: Two more right after that one, while typing up the edit.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/eod6nfvjlrdwjng/083121-8906-01.dmp?dl=0

Note: I merged the previous post with this one, since these haven't been run through the analyzer yet, either. Apologies for the weird linking of the last crash here. I'm not sure why it keeps forcing to that format, unlike the rest.




Part of me wants to say its the CPU still but one error did actually blame a driver

KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE (139) is a stack pointer error but it was caused by razer drivers
WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for RzDev_0226.sys
Aug 17 2020RzDev_0226.sysRazer driver
update or remove these

UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007f) was a stack pointer error
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stack_register its on the CPU

CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101) is generally a CPU error.

MIxed signals, why not sure where to look. Dumps aren't revealing causes so I am left to figuring out what it might be.

Shoot me if I asked already but what WIFI card are you using? I don't think its cause, I am just wondering if I can find newer drivers for it.
Jul 09 2019rtwlane.sysRealtek PCI-E Wireless LAN NIC NDIS driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
there might be newer than these.

I have seen someone have problems with soundblaster drivers recently as well
So the only part not swapped yet is the likely culprit after all? I unfortunately can't send the PC back to CyberPowerPC for repairs because I already swapped the power supply and they won't work on a PC with custom parts that deviate from the original build, and I don't have the old one anymore to put back in.

We removed the Razer drivers in the past completely but continued to have crashes, so I had assumed we ruled them out for the most part, so I went back to using the hardware that accompanies the drivers. There are no updates for them as far as I know, and I already made a post on Razer's forums back in March but no one has responded.

Is there a way to check what WiFi Card I have? in my adapter settings, it shows this for WiFi: Realtek 8821CE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC, which also appears in device manager, along with a Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller.
 
Last edited:

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/k6bfvpyL/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:083121-9046-01.dmp (Aug 31 2021 - 15:05:47)
Bugcheck:UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007F)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: FoxitReaderUpd)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 05 Min(s), and 10 Sec(s)

File information:083121-8906-01.dmp (Aug 31 2021 - 15:07:14)
Bugcheck:UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007F)
Probably caused by:Unknown_Image (Process: FoxitReaderUpd)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 01 Min(s), and 04 Sec(s)

File information:083121-8796-01.dmp (Aug 31 2021 - 15:00:13)
Bugcheck:UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP_M (1000007F)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: HearthstoneDec)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 28 Min(s), and 44 Sec(s)

File information:083021-8234-01.dmp (Aug 30 2021 - 17:14:52)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:Unknown_Image (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 02 Min(s), and 56 Sec(s)

File information:083021-7828-01.dmp (Aug 30 2021 - 15:55:10)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:ntkrnlmp.exe (Process: OriginWebHelpe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 56 Min(s), and 46 Sec(s)
This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Is there a way to check what WiFi Card I have? in my adapter settings, it shows this for WiFi: Realtek 8821CE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC,
well, Asus make one but that info is all I need. I could guess its the Asus one as they tend to change the date on drivers. The ones you have installed are from 2019
Jul 09 2019rtwlane.sysRealtek PCI-E Wireless LAN NIC NDIS driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
but the newest drivers from realtek are actually 2017 - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/rtl8821ce-software

can you try using an ethernet cable for a while and see if it is WIFI to blame, 3 of the victims are internet apps so maybe.
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
well, Asus make one but that info is all I need. I could guess its the Asus one as they tend to change the date on drivers. The ones you have installed are from 2019
Jul 09 2019rtwlane.sysRealtek PCI-E Wireless LAN NIC NDIS driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
but the newest drivers from realtek are actually 2017 - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/rtl8821ce-software

can you try using an ethernet cable for a while and see if it is WIFI to blame, 3 of the victims are internet apps so maybe.
I do use an Ethernet cable. I've always been hard wired, so unless the motherboard Ethernet is causing issues, I don't think it'd be the WiFi card. Actually, I don't think I've ever even connected to a WiFi network on this PC.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Okay, I love it when I think I worked it out and the person turns around and goes, no, I don't use that... :)

You not first one.

So going from my idea it might be network, and you use Ethernet
they aren't that old but age doesn't really mean a lot
Jan 04 2021rt640x64.sysRealtek NICDRV 8169 PCIe GBE Family Controller driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
download Win10 Auto Installation Program from under windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software

maybe update VPN software
Jan 14 2020tap-pia-0901.sysOpenVPN Private Internet Access driver

I was hoping a simple WiFi card that probably cost very little was cause. On we go
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
Okay, I love it when I think I worked it out and the person turns around and goes, no, I don't use that... :)

You not first one.

So going from my idea it might be network, and you use Ethernet
they aren't that old but age doesn't really mean a lot
Jan 04 2021rt640x64.sysRealtek NICDRV 8169 PCIe GBE Family Controller driver https://www.realtek.com/en/
download Win10 Auto Installation Program from under windows header here - https://www.realtek.com/en/component/zoo/category/network-interface-controllers-10-100-1000m-gigabit-ethernet-pci-express-software

maybe update VPN software
Jan 14 2020tap-pia-0901.sysOpenVPN Private Internet Access driver

I was hoping a simple WiFi card that probably cost very little was cause. On we go
As far as I see, my VPN network drivers are up to date, but the PC has crashed on a fresh install without those, so I don't imagine they are causing all the issues. I'll keep a look out for an update on them as I move forward, though. As far the Win10 Auto Installation, I got it downloaded and ran it, but the only option was to repair or remove, so I went ahead and repaired. I don't think it updated anything.

Also, apologies for that. I really, really wish just getting rid of the WiFi card would fix it. I could live without WiFi on this PC.

Also, between my last comment and this one, I had one BSOD and two hard freezes. I'll wait to upload it until some more happen, to give gardenman a break. The hard freezes happened after the BSOD, and all three happened while watching a YouTube video, the hard freezes occurring within a minute or two of turning the PC on post-BSOD. The hard freezes first froze the frame of the video, then after maybe a second, the audio bugged and kept looping whatever the last sound coming out was. My mouse could still move on my second monitor (maybe my first as well, but I never moved it there in time) for a second or two before eventually that froze as well, and I ended up having to hard power cycle both times.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I don't think problem is software then.
Gaming Chassis: CyberpowerPC P418X Mid-Tower Gaming Case (Included)

Extra Case Fans: 3X Apevia Dual addressable digital RGB 120mm Fan 3Pins (Included)

CPU: Intel® Core™ Processor i9-10850K 10/20 3.60GHz

CPU / Processor Cooling Fan: CyberPowerPC MasterLiquid Lite 120mm ARGB CPU Liquid Cooler

Motherboard: ASUS PRIME Z490-V ATX,

RAM / System Memory: 16GB (8GBx2) DDR4/3200MHz RGB MEMORY (Included)

Video Card: GeForce RTX™ 3090 24GB GDDR6X (Ampere)

Power Supply: 1,000 Watts - Standard 80 Plus Gold Power Supply (Included)

Primary Hard Drive: 1TB WD Blue SN550 Series PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD

Secondary Hard Drive: 3TB (3TBx1) HDD (Included) ST3000DM007-1WY10G.

Keyboard: CyberPowerPC NOHI 01 Multimedia USB Wired Gaming Keyboard w/ Backlight (Included)

Mouse: CyberPowerPC Elite M1 131 RGB 7-Color w/ 9 Button,

Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64-bit Edition) (Included)



I have done memtest86, 8 passes, no failures. (Technically, two 4-passes back to back)

Both drives were tested
Replaced PSU
But they replaced the SSD and MOBO and this error is still continuing.
GPU was swapped to a EVGA - GeForce RTX 3090 XC3
SSD was swapped to a different one, but the same model. When restoring old files, I saw the serial number was different, but same exact model.
Memory was swapped to same model, different sticks. Can't verify for sure, but they say it happened.
I personally bought and swapped the power supply to a "Seasonic Flagship Prime Series SSR-1000PD 1000W Platinum Full Modular ATX12V & EPS12V 135mm FDB Fan Super Quiet Power Supply" upon RMA return.

CPU passes Prime 95 & Intel Processor Diagnostic Tool (I assume I did ask for that sometime)

looks at whats left... now i see why i was hoping it was WIFI.
only things not replaced apart from CPU are mouse/keybaord (feels like a stretch)

you could run bare basics, CPU/1 stick of ram/NVME/ integrated graphics
I don't know what cause is but if we reduce the amount of parts in PC and it still happens, it at least reduces possible causes.

I shall ask if anyone has any smart ideas.
 

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
Doesn't rule out the WiFi card. If it is in there, it is running. Even if not in use. Disable it in the BIOS or remove completely if it is an M.2 card. Disable anything you aren't using.



I can tell you I once built a completely non-functional computer with all functional and tested parts. It was the last time I compromised on anything, after that it was high quality all the way.

1Ghz Athlon T-Bird system. It would corrupt any installed OS within a day or two. (Congrats to Windows 2000 for working for almost 3 days) Even tried Windows XP which hadn't officially come out yet. Kept the GPU, hard drive, power supply, sold the CPU, Motherboard, and RAM (again all tested and working in other systems) Hard drive needed a low level format, about the tenth one, to get it working again. Some quirk of voltage and memory instability was always my theory on that one. Luckily this was in the age of LAN parties, and I had access to a lot of hardware to test with, and not too long before that we had a computer die during an event, motherboard shorted out during some OG Counterstrike. But the host had just bought himself a P4 with Rambus and had spare parts laying around.
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
looks at whats left... now i see why i was hoping it was WIFI.
only things not replaced apart from CPU are mouse/keybaord (feels like a stretch)

you could run bare basics, CPU/1 stick of ram/NVME/ integrated graphics
I don't know what cause is but if we reduce the amount of parts in PC and it still happens, it at least reduces possible causes.

I shall ask if anyone has any smart ideas.
I don't think I had done the Intel Processor Diagnostic Tool, but I went ahead and downloaded it and ran it, and it passed just fine. My computer had another crash right before I did the test, which was after returning to my PC after being away from it for a few hours.
Taking apart the PC will be a last step, if possible, but I won't say no to doing it if everything else is exhausted.


Simple one - this PC is cursed. Yea it sounds like a joke but at the same time after all this fruitless troubleshooting it almost sound like truth. Sadly.
My coworker has been telling me the same thing, and he laughs because its in my nature to be supremely unlucky, so this hits sadly really close to home.

Doesn't rule out the WiFi card. If it is in there, it is running. Even if not in use. Disable it in the BIOS or remove completely if it is an M.2 card. Disable anything you aren't using.



I can tell you I once built a completely non-functional computer with all functional and tested parts. It was the last time I compromised on anything, after that it was high quality all the way.

1Ghz Athlon T-Bird system. It would corrupt any installed OS within a day or two. (Congrats to Windows 2000 for working for almost 3 days) Even tried Windows XP which hadn't officially come out yet. Kept the GPU, hard drive, power supply, sold the CPU, Motherboard, and RAM (again all tested and working in other systems) Hard drive needed a low level format, about the tenth one, to get it working again. Some quirk of voltage and memory instability was always my theory on that one. Luckily this was in the age of LAN parties, and I had access to a lot of hardware to test with, and not too long before that we had a computer die during an event, motherboard shorted out during some OG Counterstrike. But the host had just bought himself a P4 with Rambus and had spare parts laying around.

So disable the WiFi card (definitely a PCIe slotted card) in the BIOS, then try again? I had thought to reset windows, unplug the external audio DAC, and anything except my keyboard and mouse, and the ethernet plug, and run in safe mode with networking and try to crash the PC to see if its internal or external devices, but I'm not sure if this sort of test would be conclusive or really prove anything.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
So disable the WiFi card (definitely a PCIe slotted card) in the BIOS, then try again? I had thought to reset windows, unplug the external audio DAC, and anything except my keyboard and mouse, and the ethernet plug, and run in safe mode with networking and try to crash the PC to see if its internal or external devices, but I'm not sure if this sort of test would be conclusive or really prove anything.
i would try both. Obviously give one a chance to work before doing other

At some point I would have taken PC to a repair store before i got cyberpower to replace it all but I guess it was under warranty so I hope that didn't cost too much. I don't suggest blind replacements as i can't afford it myself so why should I assume others can?
 
Feb 12, 2021
60
0
30
0
i would try both. Obviously give one a chance to work before doing other

At some point I would have taken PC to a repair store before i got cyberpower to replace it all but I guess it was under warranty so I hope that didn't cost too much. I don't suggest blind replacements as i can't afford it myself so why should I assume others can?
Sending it to them the first time cost me about 300$ for insurance and shipping. The second time was free (they paid shipping and provided the label), and I just went without paying insurance on the package. The actual replacements on their side was free. The only other thing out of pocket was me paying a repair shop to look at it, and buying the power supply, so we're looking at around $700 now, everything added together. Certainly not ideal, and of course if its something I can do myself without spending money, that's a preferable method.

I'll attempt the second one over the weekend, the first one I'll figure out in a bit.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
One other thing that has been questioned, the ability of the 120mm AIO to keep CPU cool.

Do you use any software that tracks temperatures?
something like hwinfo? https://www.hwinfo.com/download/

how is case set up? where is the 120mm radiator mounted?

this isn't yours but is the case - https://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gaming-Instant-Ship-GXL-99101
pictures don't match system as it shows air cooling and mentions the AIO. So curious where its mounted
I am assuming the apevia are 2 on front and 1 on rear?
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS