Having problems installing AMD X4 845 (desperate help needed lol)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Proyalty0702

Prominent
May 7, 2017
Hey there, and thanks in advance for taking the time to try and help me out!

So here's the rundown: I have next to no knowledge when it comes to computer hardware whatsoever. 2 months ago my computer was having issues so my tech savvy friend came to help me out and after a bunch of troubleshooting we figured out the problem was my power supply was starting to die and so it was replaced. All the problems were resolved and the PC has been working great ever since.

In the meantime, I've been wanting to upgrade my computer for a while to be able to play higher end games and finally have been in a financial position to do so. I brought my computer into a local shop since I have no knowledge of this stuff, so that the new GPU and CPU I wanted were ordered after verifying they'd be compatible with my motherboard.

When my tech savvy friend heard that I did this he said I wasted my money and should have just talked to him and ordered the parts etc, but that I shouldn't have the parts installed by the shop, just have him do it. So when the parts came in, I just brought them home.

He's blown me off for the past 3 weeks so finally this weekend I decided to attempt it myself. Watched a lot of videos on youtube and did some reading on here, and last night installed the new GPU with relative ease.

Since that went well, today I attempted to install the new CPU and have run into problems. I installed it according to the instructions and videos that I watched, but when I turn the computer on the fan turns on, but the monitor doesnt get a signal and I'm pretty sure the computer isn't loading even though the light comes on and the fans are spinning.