HD 6870 with CM elite power 460w?

shikhar_rastogi

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012
Hello,
I have bought a Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 (second hand.....7 months old...barely used and 2 years 4 months warranty ......) and presently i have a cooler master elite power 460 w (rated as 460w but is a 430 w PSU! :( )
The question is, can i run the hd 6870 with no overclocking at full load with this PSU....BTW i cant replace my PSU <b>now</b> ......have to use it for 4-5 months....my system specs

AMD Phenom IIX4 955 BE (125 watts)
Corsair 1x4gb ram
Asus M4N68T-M LE V2
Cooler Master elite power 460w

Please Help me :(
thanks in advance :)

NO! "Creative cabling" only works if the PSU is able to handle the intended load. I would not trust a liar-labeled CM for your HD6870. It may work, for a while (especially if you're gaming, not stress-testing), but it may smoke too. Fortunately, that IS one of the few low-end CM units that HardwareSecrets found to actually possess working protection circuits. The point remains though, all the creative cabling in the world won't make up for insufficient capacity.

shikhar_rastogi

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012

ok......by the way i knew that i'd have to use the Molex pin connector....and yeah i'll only intent to game at a resolution of 1366x768 (please dont tell me to not buy hd 6870 for a resolution of 1366x768 and to buy a hd 6770 or sumthing else.....i will upgrade to a new 24' monitor soon) and i will be playing BF3,Crysis 2,GTA 4 (and upcomming GTA 5 ),NFS RUN,Skyrim 5 ,Batman:Arkhym City .....and all the future games......so no stress testing playing at 1366x768 wouldn't stress my card i suppose(i think it will use max 60-70% of card).....and i will be upgrading to a corsair gs600 after 4-5 months or equivalent..... :)

Cooler Master Elite Power 400 W Power Supply +12V rail distribution:

• +12V1 (solid yellow wire): ATX12V/EPS12V cable, peripheral connectors and SATA power connectors.