[SOLVED] HDD cannot be found after switching to Intel 660p SSD

Oct 17, 2019
I recently purchased a 500gb Intel 660p SSD since my 1TB HDD was running out of space. I am very new to computer hardware, but didn't expect switching to be this hard (I mean people buy more storage all the time right).

I looked up a tutorial video on YouTube to help switch my Windows 10 OS to the new drive. However, as soon as I popped the SSD into the M.2 slot it took me to the BIOS and asked me to boot from the empty drive. Even the BIOS couldn't find my old HDD that I was just using 30 seconds ago.

I then just decided to fresh install Windows 10 onto the SSD using a flash drive that had the OS on it. That was simple enough. However, neither file explorer nor windows storage settings can locate my HDD which has all my files on it. Additionally, windows display setting are capped at 1280p right now when they should be 4K.

Specs in case it helps:
CPU - ryzen 7 1700x
GPU - rx 5700 xt
SSD - intel 660p
HDD - WD Blue
PSU - 650 watt EVGA
MOBO - I forget it came with the CPU

Solution
Direct from the specs:

------------------------------
*5 When a SATA / PCIE mode M.2 device is installed, the M.2 Socket shares bandwidth with the SATA6G_5/6 ports.
*6 When a SATA mode M.2 device is installed, the M.2 Socket shares bandwidth with the SATA6G_5/6 ports

Move your HDD SATA cable to another port on the motherboard.

USAFRet

Titan
You absolutely need to know the motherboard.
Often, one or more SATA ports is disabled when using something in an M.2 port.

As far as the 'cloning' thing....
How much space was/is consumed on your old HDD and what size is the SSD (500GB?)

Oct 17, 2019
Found the mobo from old email: ASUS ROG STRIX B-350F GAMING AM4

The old HDD was using about 900GB out of 1000 and the SSD says it has 470gb free.

If the m.2 does disable certain ports how would I go about finding that out, and more importantly how would I work around this?

USAFRet

Titan
Direct from the specs: