Help a noob physically install a new SSD and migrate existing OS to it

Remainxit

Commendable
Jun 23, 2016
Firstly, I'm a noob.

The end goal for me is to migrate my Windows 7 from a full 40gb SSD to a new 240gb drive. I do NOT want to do a fresh re-install of Windows (many games to install via Origin = trillions of gigs of downloads).

Please see pictures for my config. In essence: Asus P8Z68-V motherboard, 40gb SSD with Windows 7 installed + 1tb HDD for data only. I believe they're in RAID, not that I know what that means. And, in a box, waiting to be used, a 240gb SSD.

I may have mentioned it before, I'm a noob. So it should not come as a surprise to you that I failed at the first hurdle which was physically connecting the SSD. I naively disconnected the power and data cables from the HDD (it only has data on it) and plugged them in to the new SSD. With both SSDs connected, I hoped to effect the migration.

However upon reboot, the PC says I need to insert a proper boot media. So I restart and in the BIOS I select the 40gb SSD that has Windows on it. But it still doesn't boot and repeats the message that I need to insert proper boot media.

Feeling I'm about to break something, I put everything back in order before I cause irreversible damage.

So, help me please at least overcome this hurdle. Why isn't the PC booting off the 40gb SSD with Windows 7 installed when I haven't even touched that drive (in a physical sense)?.

Once that's done, I may return to these forums once I've also failed to clone my OS to the new drive and mess it all up, but that's phase 2.

I'm grateful for your answers.

http://imgur.com/xQNGVUb
http://imgur.com/kHcTsPl
http://imgur.com/lGbSDzm

Solution
Well basically if you've cloned the small SSD over to the new SSD and you boot from the new SSD you should be able to boot to Windows since the rest of the system files would still be on the HDD. However, you have the chance to fix things up with the new drive and have your whole OS on it.