Question Help button in Explorer and MS Paint and upload of data?

emilfrederiksen

Commendable
Jul 6, 2018
125
1
1,585
0
Hello everyone

In every folder in Windows Explorer, right under the (X), there is a (?) help button.
When I click it, it opens Microsoft Edge browser and then makes a search regarding help for Explorer in Windows 10.

1.
Is the search in any way related to the contet of the folder?


2.
Is any content of the folder uploaded to the Microsoft Edge server during the proces?

In MS Paint, just below the (X) there is a blue (?) help button.
When I click it, it opens Microsoft Edge browser and then makes a search regarding help for Paint in Windows 10.

3.
Is the search in any way related to the picture or file open in MS Paint?

4.
Is the picture or file open uploaded to the Microsoft Edge server during the proces?

Thank you in advance for replying

Best regards
 

ex_bubblehead

Champion
Moderator
"Context sensitive"
It is related to what software / from where the help button is activated?
That's exactly what context sensitive means.

"All it knows ( and sends) is information concerning what folder/app you are launching from"
So only information from what software / from what, and not anything related to the actual content of the folder or content of the Paint window?
Correct.

"Nothing at all sinister going on here."
No content data being uploaded you mean?
Correct.

There is nothing sinister going on here. Your precious data isn't being uploaded to the mothership. If you are actually that concerned then disconnect your system entirely from the net, disable/remove all networking functionality and run your computer as an island unto itself.
 
Reactions: emilfrederiksen

emilfrederiksen

Commendable
Jul 6, 2018
125
1
1,585
0
It's nothing more than context sensitive help. All it knows ( and sends) is information concerning what folder/app you are launching from. Nothing at all sinister going on here.
"Context sensitive"
It is related to what software / from where the help button is activated?

"All it knows ( and sends) is information concerning what folder/app you are launching from"
So only information from what software / from what, and not anything related to the actual content of the folder or content of the Paint window?

"Nothing at all sinister going on here."
No content data being uploaded you mean?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY