Help.. First Build doesn't boot with HDD. BIOS?

Jose Costa

Honorable
Jan 19, 2014
Good Afternoon everyone!

I am in need of some help here. Hope I don't explain too much or too little as it's my first time writing.

So, I just finished my first ever build from scratch (only modified retail Desktops until now) and I find myself in a little problem.

I'm pretty sure I installed everything correctly yet when I was turning it on the TUF logo came up with the "press delete for UEFI BIOS" message but never left. Also there was no beeps from the motherboard whatsoever. Still haven't heard a single beep until now and already booted 4 times.

I then proceeded to diagnose the problem. 2 Hours later it booted when my 2nd HDD SATA cable was disconnected before hand.

My problem is: I can't boot with the HDD connected, be it to BIOS or OS, or connect it through Hot Plug and have it appear anywhere (tried My Computer, Disk Manager and Device Manager). It does however start to spin connected this way but then stops ~1.5 seconds later.

Please try to help me or provide some guidance/knowledge that could help me look somewhere different. I did not back up my 2nd HDD, only the SSD. Won't do that mistake again, although I still don't see why this could be happening.

What changed (That I know and besides components):

- Windows install was made using Sysprep command on my SSD since I lost my Windows 8 CD;
- UEFI Bios now appears due to the new Mobo (already tried legacy and mixed mode as at fisrt I believed the Bios was the problem. Don't know anymore. Not sure if the changed ever occurred though, as through msinfo32 it says UEFI in the Bios Mode).

System Specs:

- Corsair Graphite 230T Case With 3 bundled fans plus 1 coolermaster 120mm from old PC;
- Motherboard ASUS TUF Z77 Sabertooth;
- Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Quad-Core Processor (8M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz);
- 16Gb of Ram DDR3 1600 (some cheap ones, checked and they seem to be running like new);
- SSD Intel 520 (240Gb);