[SOLVED] Help! I think I screwed my motherboard standoff to far.

Nov 17, 2020
Hi,

I'm not sure if this would be best for motherboards or cases. I'm new to pc building, but I know everything I need to know. Except this. I couldn't find anyone with this problem anywhere. When I received my case, I also got motherboard standoffs to screw in my self. A few of them where a bit tricky where it would feel like I had screwed them all the way in, but I could still see the threads and the thicker part of the stand off wasn't touching or super close to the case. One of the stand offs was weird, but I eventually screwed it in. Just a little more twisting and I went sort of into the case. (not the way its supposed to) Compared to the other stand offs it looked fine, and at the back of the case were the screws are visible, they all looked fine including that one. I think I might have screwed in the standoff a little to far. The location of it is at the 3 motherboard standoffs at the bottom, the one in the middle is the one I screwed in too far. The bottom being where the front panel connectors are and such. Here are my options 1. Take the stand off out and don't worry about it. 2. Leave the standoff in, and just don't screw it in to give it some support. 3. Use something to grip the stand off in the back and then screw in the motherboard screw. 4. Any other ideas. Also my case is the fractal design meshify c white, and my motherboard is the asrock b450 steel legend (ATX)

Solution
Really sorry guys, just had a light bulb moment. I figured it out-The standoff was being weird, and would sometimes catch, that was what happened. I just didn't screw it in all the way. Thanks for the help though. I just wasn't thinking.
Nov 17, 2020