Help me find a NAS solution!

Hello man

Honorable
Hey guys,

While I am an avid system builder, I am new to the world of NAS, homespun, purchased or otherwise.

Here is my problem: I am a college student, but I am also a professional photographer. I handle sometimes upward of 700 30mb raw files at once, and I can't stand having them in decentralized locations for workflow reasons. I have three potential editing rigs-a Ryzen based desktop in a 900D with 16tb of storage (some redundant, some not), a MacBook Pro with only 512gb and a desktop back home with about 1.5 TB. I keep my files in at least two places at once usually, especially if they are on my laptop, a non-redundant environment, but I have an ardent HATRED for carrying external hard drives. They bother me, I have had multiple die, they get lost etc.

I want a NAS system that allows me to upload files to it if I am on my LAN in my dorm or if I am on my laptop on WIFI somewhere else, from Windows and Mac OS. I think a basic FTP server seems clunky-ideally I want Adobe Lightroom to be able to access it natively, which means it needs to show up in Finder or File Explorer, on LAN or not. I have tried sharing folders in Windows, then using a basic VPN configured in Windows. It sucked and was unreliable, not to mention some networks block PPTP connections.

No, I don't want to pay for cloud storage. That also annoys me. I want the drives, physically, in a location where I can own them and make backups, or send them for file recovery if something were to happen.

Ideas? It seems there are pre-built options, but I am also open to building my own with FreeNas or something. It doesn't need 8 drive bays, I want to keep it fairly cheap.

Thanks!

Solution
Yep, you should do, that's how I access one of mine using their quick connect technique.

If you want 100% clarification, contact the boys at Synology, always great help.

Hello man

Honorable

What is their remote web access like? Haven't used one firsthand.