Question Help me - total noob

Bazzlebrush88

Reputable
Jun 7, 2019
Hi everyone, I'm new here but will prob be posting a lot. Was wondering if any geniuses can help?

First of all my rig. (beginner)

A8 7800k quad core CPU
16GB standard RAM
Asrock FM2+ hd motherboard (Micro ATX)
Msi RX580 Armour 8gb OC edition
2TB HDD

So I installed new GPU, am playing plagues tale on it and the computer shuts down. Can someone help? Am I meeting to change any components - I know and upgrade of the CPU is essential but should this all work fine on my system. Anything I need to tweak? Told you I'm a noob, but can understand instructions very well at least.

Thank you, Craig

GamersNexus had an article to never use other PSU cables for another PSU due to incompatibility (and risk to system). If the adapter came with the PSU then you can ignore this part of my concern.

I'm not familiar with the brand so can't make an informed judgement about its quality. But generally I would refer to a tier list: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/1045610-new-psu-tier-list/
The wattage (on paper at least) should be sufficient to power the system, especially the graphics card. But that isn't to say there's nothing wrong.

Have you noticed any pattern to these sudden shut downs?

Also worth considering is looking in Event Viewer. I am assuming Windows 10. So... Windows Logs > System. This might be enough to see if there are clues to the shut downs.

Reactions: Bazzlebrush88

Bazzlebrush88

Reputable
Jun 7, 2019
GamersNexus had an article to never use other PSU cables for another PSU due to incompatibility (and risk to system). If the adapter came with the PSU then you can ignore this part of my concern.

I'm not familiar with the brand so can't make an informed judgement about its quality. But generally I would refer to a tier list: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/1045610-new-psu-tier-list/