[SOLVED] Help meee

Mar 12, 2021
I'm so close to ruining a whole family's lives. I'm gonne be really honest. I'm 16. I was installing Windows 10 on some guys PC. I was getting paid. When I was choosing a disk drive to install his 2nd hard drive had "new" button glowing. So I thought they didn't formatted it. I clicked new and applied. And formatted. Then he said his a lot of months work were in there. I panicked and didn't thell him. And lied that it was already like this. I was feeling very guilty so I helped them to recover their data but can't work it out. I'm too broke to use paid softwares and used cracked ones. Stellar phoenix and EaseUS. I'm not begging for money or anything. I didn't write any files on the formatted hard drive. It was 2 days ago. Some recovered files were corrupted. And Sometimes recovery scan stucks, crashes. Is it because I'm using cracked software? Or the hard drive has problem? I just don't know what to do. I'm just an amateur who acted like a professional to get some cash. I don't wanna bail out. Like how do you guys recover data? I saw someone I know recover datas very 100% everytime when he do it. When saw him doing that I didn't see any extra peripheral, just him using some kind of software i don't remember. He was doing it with no problem. So it should work too right? He says that if you write new files to the hdd you want to recover files from you can't recover deleted files. I didn't do that . I can't ask him now it's really complicated. But if I canct find solutions from here, I guess I'll have to ask from him.

Solution
If the drive was showing up as unallocated before you formatted it, then it already had problems. If it gets stuck at 1% when doing a recovery, then this suggests physical problems.

Start with a SMART report with a tool such as CrystalDiskInfo. Look for reallocated, pending or uncorrectable sectors.