HELP! My CPU is on drugs!

G

Hi!
I have been running a celeron566 @850 on an ABit BE6-II for a couple of months now. I had to reinstall windows 2 weeks ago (all new drivers) and ever since my system has been randomly freezing. I figured it must be my processessor over-heating so I went back down to 566. But it still keeps freezing. I have tried everything but I cannot stabilize it. The weird thing is that when my computer crashes, if I am running my TV tuner card, the video keeps working, only all the windows are stuck and no input is accepted. HELP!

thanks in advance for any advice you can give me...

SoulReaper

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Sounds like you have managed to fry ur chip. Overclocking over an extended period of time will eventually fry ur chip. People seem to forget that fact.

"upgrading is no longer an option...it's a necessity"
Visit www.elitehunters.com
--SoulReaper =)

G

First set CPU speed to default before trying to troubleshoot. Second, try backing up your information on another drive, Formatting your system drive and reinstalling 98se (if you were using anything other than 98se or 2000 and you were playing games switch to one of those two) DO NOT reinstall over the existing install, do a complete format to get rid of residue. This isn't usually neccisary but give it a shot, it may fix it, it often fixes odd windows problems and I'm not going to troubleshoot over a forum. If the problems persist then see if you can find another cpu that you can try in that mobo, the overclocking of the system bus so dramatically may have overloaded the chipset and caused damage there.