[SOLVED] Help my poor 95C Ryzen 3600 please!

harry_redhead

Prominent
Nov 10, 2018
Hi all!

Built a fantastic build a while back but I've been struggling badly with thermals. First I had an issue with the 3600 defaulting to 1.4v, ensuring 100C+ under load. But now with 1.3V I'm getting 88C, and my 1.35V is even hitting 95 in Project Cars 2! I only realised thanks to England being freezing cold but my room being super warm after a 4 hour stint in the 24 hours of Le Mans. I don't have a set budget at the moment but I'd prefer cheaper over RGB, and I'm not very experienced in AIOs/Water Cooling but I wouldn't mind an AIO.

Thanks all!

EDIT: For those curious, my idles are a toasty 40-45C!

Solution
Idle temps are perfect. It's not the case, nor the cooling. Has everything to do with cpu settings, and exactly what software is running.

A Ryzen can hit upto 1.5v at idle/low current loads, 1.325v at middling current and closer to 1.2v at high current/max loads. If you are hitting 1.4v/1.3v at maximum output, you have an OC, as Ryzen Master doesn't allow that.

harry_redhead

Prominent
Nov 10, 2018
I'm sure someone going to ask for your system specs. I'm more interested in what case you have and specifically how many intake/exhaust fans and if they are facing the right way to do their job.

CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
CPU Cooler: Wraith Stealth
Thermal Paste: MX4
GPU: XFX Thicc III 5700XT
RAM: 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix LT
HDD: 2TB WD Green
SSD: 240GB Kingston SATA & 1TB Sabrent NVMe
PSU: Corsair VS650
Case: Fractal Design G Focus, default 2x 120mm front fan layout + 140mm aftermarket rear fan

All fans are facing the correct way (rear as output and front as input). My graphics card hits 65-70 max so it's not a case temp issue

As GorillaMonsoon said, post your full PC specs.
Also, take a pic of the inside of the PC and post it through imgur.com or something similar.

View: https://imgur.com/a/1a3azzO

EndEffeKt_24

Commendable
Mar 27, 2019