[SOLVED] Help! PC upgrade predicament

May 12, 2020
Hi! this is my first time posting here although I've been lurking forever, I am not really "tech-savvy" although I've read up tons now so I know the basics, I'd like to thank in advance the knowledgeable person(s) who will go through my post (which i will try to structure as clearly and detailed as possible) and provide feedback THANK YOU so so much.

My Current setup: (upgrade Budget: ~$1200)

Operating system: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. Z97-PRO GAMER (SOCKET 1150)
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, Haswell 22nm Technology
CPU cooling: Stock Fans
RAM: 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 799MHz
GPU: 4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 (ASUStek Computer Inc)
Storage: 1TB HDD, 250GB SSD

I've had this PC for a little over 4 years now and am looking to upgrade and add liquid cooling too! My main goal is STREAMING games while maintaining high FPS as I play competitively (Fortnite). I usually get ~140-180FPS (240Hz monitor) all settings on low (shadows off etc), which dips lower than that when I stream (using Xsplit software).

Questions:

1) I was looking at RTX 2070S or GTX 1080ti, they seem like significant upgrades, however will my CPU create a bottleneck and make it useless?
2)I purchased a H100i Pro Corsair liquid CPU cooler, should I install that if my CPU temps reach 70-72 while im gaming?
3)Do I need to change my CPU for any upgrade i make to my GPU ?
4) what about RAM? is it worth the upgrade to 32GB ?

Feel free to skip these questions and just show me the way! again thank you for taking the time to familiarize yourselves with my case!

Solution
Hold on...
1)Depends on the games you are trying to play. Everything isn't driven by gpu grunt.
2)Waste of money. Send it back, get a refund... upgrade cooler when you start seeing temps over 85C under load.