[HELP!] S5520SC Workstation very unstable - Random BSOD/Reboot/Freeze

Mohamed_Hussein

Commendable
Mar 19, 2016
Hello everyone. It took me months to finally write this message. I’m ripping my hair apart trying to find what is wrong with my build. I have read tons of articles and posts all over the but no use. I'm not a hardware expert so I don't mess with my case a lot. I hope to find some help on how exactly to approach this situation without causing even more problems! I will try to write in FULL detail so anyone out there with the knowledge could hopefully help me. And for those of you who will skim through, I made the key points readable too.

First of all, here are my specs:
Case: SC5600 Chassis
Motherboard: Intel S5520SC Server board
CPU: 2x Xeon E5645 2.4 GHz
CPU Coolers: 1x Antech Kuhle H2O 620 + 1x Antek Kuhler H2O 650
RAM: 12x4GB RAM Chips
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5770
HDD: WD Caviar Blue 1TB (Primary and System HDD)

Here is my issue in a nutshell:
My machine runs fine most of the time, a few days, weeks, or months in a row. Then suddenly one or more of the following scenarios would start happening and sticks around for a while, repeating time after time until it drives me crazy! The results of such problems range from once costing me an HDD that had all of my work and personal data for 5 years and I miraculously managed to recover it, down to the mere annoyance and frustration of a PC randomly shutting down in your face and refusing to tell you why!

So, down to the details! Here are the symptoms detailed as much as I could analyze them:

1 – BSODs:

My machine starts showing all kinds of BSODs. Sometimes while I’m browsing in Chrome, sometimes while writing this article. Sometimes when it’s idle, and sometimes when it’s under some certain load. A few to be mentioned are:

MEMORY_MANAGEMENT
REFERENCE_BY_POINTER
IRQL_GT_ZERO_AT_SYSTEM_SERVICE
STOP: 0X0000001E (This one had no tagline)
APC_INDEX_MISMATCH

2- Random restarts: