Question Help to change 500GB to 1TB on NVME PCie

ozrock

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
Hi,

I am new to nvme ssds but find a PC box I bought has a 500GB card in it for the os.

I want 1TB so is there anything I need to know when changing the card?

It is a HPZ640 Win 10 Pro

ozrock

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
No other drives at the mo'.
Yes I am going to do that but want to move all my progs etc to the new drive and too many to reinstall so have used Laplink which has been great for me before.
Trouble is I have more used progs on the source than what there is space on this new 500GB. I am about 80GB short of space.
At first, I thought the os ssd was a regular one so bought a 1TB and did a Macrium clone so was going to transfer all files to this, but then I saw it was this NVRM thingo which I had never seen before.
I can go back and select only enough progs to fit the new drive but it takes a few hours to do it.

USAFRet

Titan
No other drives at the mo'.
Yes I am going to do that but want to move all my progs etc to the new drive and too many to reinstall so have used Laplink which has been great for me before.
Trouble is I have more used progs on the source than what there is space on this new 500GB. I am about 80GB short of space.
At first, I thought the os ssd was a regular one so bought a 1TB and did a Macrium clone so was going to transfer all files to this, but then I saw it was this NVRM thingo which I had never seen before.
I can go back and select only enough progs to fit the new drive but it takes a few hours to do it.
Cloning to a SATA III SSD is no problem, assuming sufficient size.

Please don't try to clone only part of it (select only enough progs). This will end in tears.

Almost certainly, the consumed space problem on the current drive is not programs, but rather other data.
Even including Restore Points or similar.

But, cloning/imaging to a new larger NVMe drive is easily doable.