Help understanding DFI product lines

Polyknikes

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009
Hey everybody,

I'm looking to get a socket 775 p45 board and DFI seems to have a great reputation and from what I've seen I really like the layouts for a water cooling setup.

However, I'm very confused about their lineup. They have a lot of different product lines and I'm having trouble figuring out what is what, maybe someone can help me?

The lan party group seems to be the boards marketed to gamers and OC'ers so thats where I'm looking.

They have 5 different lines, UT, LT, DK, JR, and BI

I haven't been able to figure out what the differences are between them, is a particular group considered their "top of the line?"

Thanks for any help, I have no experience with DFI but they look very nice.

I have a Lanparty DK 790. I can give you what I know and can see from their website and newegg.

The JR series are the smaller microATX size boards.
The BI series seems to be the cheapest (bargain) boards.
The DK is their mainline board.
The LT stands for "Lethal Tweaking" so it should have more enthusiast options than the DK series.
The UT i think is "Ultimate" the highest end, most expensive board line.

There are no P45 boards in the LT or DK lines so you would be looking for the UT P45-T2RS or UT P45-T3RS.

Polyknikes

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009
Thanks I sent an email to their sales department and they also recommended those two UT boards. I currently have DDR2 memory but hey its the holiday season and it may be time for an upgrade to DDR3.

With DDR3 I would need the LANPARTY UT P45-T3RS

I see the north and south bridges are covered with heatsinks connected by piping, which also connects to a third heatsink near the cpu.

What is that third heatsink covering? Is that removable if I want to install water blocks on the NB and SB?

Also, is your DFI fairly user-friendly when OCing? I heard somewhere that they are very scalable but tricky.