Question Help with booting with new ssd

Llamabro4

Prominent
Mar 15, 2019
Alright, so, I am new at building pcs and stuff so go easy on me. Recently, I have put together a new pc with a new Zotac 1080 GPU, added some new sticks of DDR3 Ram (I'm now at 12 gigs), a new 550W EVGA power supply, and I bought a new fresh off the market 256GB Samsung SSD. With that, I am using an old motherboard with an i5 2400 quad-core and I would also like to use my family's old 1T 2011, I believe, Windows 10, HDD. I now have put everything together only to find this thing at an extreme crawl, even worse than the Lenovo I am typing on right now. I have tried to check everything the best I can and I found that the Windows 10 on my HDD requires a now lost product key to activate. Because of this, some drivers are not installed and I can't reinstall them until I get windows again. I then decided that I was too try a clean install on my SSD, delete everything on my HDD, and use the HDD for storage. I have tried using a USB stick to install Windows 10 Pro onto the SSD but when I try to boot with it, BIOs doesn't show up, but a blinking white line does. When I switch back to the HDD, everything is ok. I have heard that downloading Windows off the USB with the HDD still plugged in is bad, for some reason, so I then tried the trick of unplugging it and using SATA 1 cable for the SSD. Obviously with no luck. I am super confused and don't have the knowledge to conquer this task. So I am here to ask someone out there if they could lend me a hand. Thanks, and sorry for so many words without a lot of info.

popatim

Titan
1050 is fine.
I feel that your slowness issue is being caused by the old win10 having all the wrong drivers for your system.