Help with build

urbanlegend645

Reputable
Jul 8, 2015
Hi guys! I'm currently working on a build for my first PC. I've never built my own before, so I'm extremely new to this and would just like opinions and suggestions about what I've come up with. I understand how each part works, and have done some research, but am not sure what goes best together or what is best for what I want my computer to do and would love some advice!

You can find the build here: link

I'm planning on using this as a gaming computer primarily - I would love to be able to play games like heavily modded Skyrim, Far Cry, Outlast, and MMORPGs without lag, and with good graphics. I may do some very light video editing as well, but that won't be it's main purpose and it doesn't need to accommodate that. I have a budget of $1000. I want it to run well, and I'm willing to spend the money on good parts, but would appreciate opinions on where I can cut costs without it affecting performance if it's at all possible.

I'm particularly interested to know your opinions about the mobo, cpu and video card combo, because it's actually a bundle on new egg and it would be nice if I could get a deal.

Thank you for your help!

Solution
The SSD is 4 times faster than the regular HDD. I know it is a good idea to put your OS and games on the SSD as they will load so much faster. I went from a 22 second boot time down to 6.5 seconds with my raid of ssd's :)
Change out the CX PSU with a better quality one. If you want to know why read this: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=416
Also I changed the build with a better PSU. Here is a list of others: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-2547993/psu-tier-list.html
Only get Tier 1 or 2.
CPU / MOBO are great choices
If you wanted you could go for a cheaper and faster R9 280x. Or a slightly more expensive and even faster R9 380.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant