[SOLVED] Help with buying a new Motherboard and CPU

a.choheyli

Reputable
Mar 30, 2018
So I bought this computer 4 years ago.
https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-83-102-104
Two years after I bought a gtx 1070 and replaced it with what was inside that computer. This pc is doing good and my expectations are low. I have some extra money so I decided to buy a new processor.
I was thinking I can buy ryzen 7 2700x for $169. I don't know exactly what processor to buy. I was thinking I can get ASRock B450M PRO4 for $75. This is the cpu I'm talking about.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FVYKFXF?tag=pcpapi-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1
So Am I making a mistake? are there any better things I can buy for the same price.
I am a noob when it comes to these stuff so feel free to criticize or educate me.
Thanks in advance.

Solution
Well for one thing you need ddr4 ram and it should be no less than 3000mhz but I recently got a 2700x and I’m very happy with it you could perhaps go for a ryzen 5 3600 system but if you like doing a lot of multi tasking and or streaming the 2700x might be a better value

86zx

Upstanding
Nov 1, 2019
Well for one thing you need ddr4 ram and it should be no less than 3000mhz but I recently got a 2700x and I’m very happy with it you could perhaps go for a ryzen 5 3600 system but if you like doing a lot of multi tasking and or streaming the 2700x might be a better value

Reactions: a.choheyli
Solution

a.choheyli

Reputable
Mar 30, 2018
So that motherboard is not compatible with ddr3 rams?

a.choheyli

Reputable
Mar 30, 2018
I don’t see anything about that WiFi on that board so either get a Asus usb WiFi card which is around 30$ or perhaps go with a motherboard with WiFi which might end up being around the same. https://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-d...WLh1jnRuMSeUUowwnD4aAqjwEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds. I have two of these they work great