help with fan hub

lockdown744

Honorable
Sep 14, 2017
i am going to buy a pwm fan hub since i only have 2 4-pin header in my mobo,1 for the cpu fan, and 1 for the chassis fan, while i searching i saw some generic pwm fan hub which are so much cheaper than the branded one like corsair commander, is there a significant difference between a generic and a branded one? is the premium price worth it?
thanks for the info im new to this kind of stuff so any comment will be appreciated

Solution
WAIT! I'll make two points.

1. The vast majority of fan Hubs can ONLY work with a true 4-pin fan system. That means you must have only 4-pin fans for it (we're only talking about the case vent fans here, not the CPU cooler) AND the mobo CHA_FAN header MUST be using PWM Mode to control its fans. Unfortunately, you cannot tell about the Mode from the number of pins on the header. There are a lot of mobos now that use only 4-pin headers but do NOT use PWM Mode on them. To help with that, post back here the maker and exact model number (and rev. no., if any) of your mobo. We can look up its manual and advise how to make this work.

A Hub is a pretty simple device with no active electronics in it. It has three types of connections. One...

lockdown744

Honorable
Sep 14, 2017

i saw one around 5 dollars only

lockdown744

Honorable
Sep 14, 2017

what could you suggest to me? i saw a 12 dollar silverstone fan hub should i go for that one is it worth it?

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
WAIT! I'll make two points.