Question Help with first build please!

Mar 30, 2019
Hi, I'm putting together my first build and I'm not very tech savvy. From what I've read, the parts I've listed below are decent and should allow me to play games on med/low settings. Titles like Star Ocean, Final Fantasy, Divinity series.

CPU: AMD - Ryzen 3 1200 3.1 GHz Quad-Core Processor ($99.99 @ Mike's Computer Shop)
Motherboard: ASRock - B450 Pro4 ATX AM4 Motherboard ($95.10 @ Vuugo)
Memory: G.Skill - Aegis 8 GB (1 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory ($56.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Video Card: MSI - Radeon RX 570 8 GB ARMOR OC Video Card ($209.99 @ Newegg Canada)
Total: $462.07

Will the parts work well together and remain stable for a few years? Can you rec other parts that might be cheaper while also serving the requirements to play games?

I already have the parts that are not listed, ATX boards only if you're going to rec a board. And also, I'm in Canada and would very much appreciate prices listed in CAD since the conversion rate is savage

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
On a board like that, I would probably go for a RAM kit (yes, buy them as kit, not two times the same) of 2 x 4 GB, instead of a single 8 GB RAM setup. It gives you the power of dual channel.
But be sure to check the RAM QVL list for your motherboard, to see at what speeds your board supports what RAM setup for sure.

Mar 30, 2019
The list sorts for compatibility, so it says. I was also told it's better to buy a larger gb ram than have 2 small ones, is this not true?

The ryzen 5 2400g and ryzen 5 1500 are the same price, are they similar in performance? Between the 2 which is overall better and additionally is there a major difference between them and the 2600?

McKeu

Proper
Mar 27, 2019
The list sorts for compatibility, so it says. I was also told it's better to buy a larger gb ram than have 2 small ones, is this not true?