Build Advice Help with new build if possible. Especially CPU installation

Bazzlebrush88

Reputable
Jun 7, 2019
Well i say new build, it's more a build of pre owned parts.

I have an old acer predator tower with the LGA 1150 Socket motherboard (Can't locate the name of the motherboard). And an 80+ bronze 500w PSU - came standard with that predator build version.

I've ordered a CPU, an Intel i5 4690 (just for now) and I have taken all the components out of my broken build and put them into this motherboard.

These components include : 16GB crucial standard DDR3 RAM.

Msi Armour RX580 8gb OC (sp 2046)

2TB SATA HDD

Is this a case of plug the CPU in and go. Or are there some things I need to do once I've plugged the cpu in.
Because I've transferred my HDD will it be best to Install a clean version of Windows or can I load Windows that was installed on that HDD from my previous build.

Like I've said. Total noob, learning as I go. Much appreciation in advance for the help.

QwerkyPengwen

Splendid
Ambassador
as stated, simply place the CPU gently into the socket and make sure it's in there the right way, then put the cooler on it.

However, if the cooler is not new and does not have thermal paste pre applied (that hasn't already been in contact with anything) then you'll need properly clean the top of the CPU and as well as the contact plate of the cooler then apply fresh thermal paste to it before installing the cooler.

Reactions: Bazzlebrush88

Bazzlebrush88

Reputable
Jun 7, 2019
as stated, simply place the CPU gently into the socket and make sure it's in there the right way, then put the cooler on it.

However, if the cooler is not new and does not have thermal paste pre applied (that hasn't already been in contact with anything) then you'll need properly clean the top of the CPU and as well as the contact plate of the cooler then apply fresh thermal paste to it before installing the cooler.