Help with overclocking an asus strix 970

brandonmaza

Reputable
Jul 10, 2016
Hi I'm very new to overclocking and really don't know much about computers. I'm trying to get at least 1500 gpu clock and 7500 memory clock. When I push the gpu clock past 1460 its starts to artifact so i really need help.The only stats I'm able to run stable with are:
GPU Boost Clock: 1450
Max GPU Voltage: 1213 (how do you increase? Heard it can reach higher clock speeds with this turned up)
Memory Clock: 7500
Fan Speed: 80 manual (I have 4 fans my idle temp is usually 28-33 Celcius and gaming never goes above 50 Celcius and hardly reaches there ever)
Power Target: 120%(how to increase? And if I could should I?)
GPU Temp: 80 Celcius
I plan on gaming with it and not for small amounts of time.

Solution
If I was you, I would use MSI afterburner and gradually bump up the core clock by small increments, until you begin to see artifacts in Valley benchmark.
If you are fairly new, dont touch the mV and work with your Memory and core clock. I aim under 70 degrees with my 970.
You can turn the Voltage up, but it outputs alot of heat, and shaves abit off your GPUs lifespan. If you want to use Voltage, then you need to bump until your unstable, add maybe 10mV and then retry for stability. And continue doing that until your happy, write it down, and bump the Voltage back abit to see if you can be stable at a lower Vcore.

+10Mhz per jump, run windowed Valley and maybe do a custom fan curve.

Pm me if you need anymore help.

KClaus

Commendable
Jul 11, 2016
If I was you, I would use MSI afterburner and gradually bump up the core clock by small increments, until you begin to see artifacts in Valley benchmark.
If you are fairly new, dont touch the mV and work with your Memory and core clock. I aim under 70 degrees with my 970.