help with water-cooling! (first timer)

Bulk_Vanderhuge

Honorable
Jan 19, 2014
PC Part Picker build list

This is my first attempt at a water-cooled system. After watching some videos and comprehensive guides I decided to take the plunge. I wanted to use the Bitfenix Prodigy as my platform and go from there. Some more research led me to the NCIX Bitfenix build and I copied some of the pieces and setup used in that build.

I plan on using 3/8 ID 5/8 OD tubing. I know that 1/2 ID will add slightly better performance, but it's only about a 1 degree C difference and the 3/8 is easier to bend without kinking, as well as offering better airflow in a small case. I will use compression fittings on all connections except for the pump.

Here are my two main questions:

1) In the NCIX build, they opt for 2 radiators, 240mm on the front and 120mm on the back so that they don't clog up the top with a 360mm, which is the only place to mount one that size. Would there be any advantage or disadvantage to a 2x radiator setup as opposed to 1x 360mm on the top?

2) I'm new to liquid cooling so I'm not 100% on the push vs pull configuration and general fan setup. The case comes with 2 Bitfenix Spectre fans which have good ratings for static pressure, which you need for pushing or pulling air through radiator resistance. I am adding a third one for the radiator on the back. What I don't know is how to configure the fans. Should all three fans be pulling air into the case to cool the radiators, and then place exhaust fans blowing out on the top? Should I have a classic, 2 pull in front, 1 exhaust in back? Any suggestions are appreciated, keeping in mind I would like to minimize fan noise.

Other thoughts: