Home Security camera system -- wired Ethernet type

tAKticool

Honorable
Apr 10, 2013
Hi everyone --

I was hoping I could enlist the Brain Trust here for some help. This community has almost-invariably been of amazing and awesome help to me for over a decade and I could use some information and advice / opinion/etc. This will be quite a long post, trying to give you all the background and information possible, so if you're not interested or short of time (or in a bad mood) -- just skip, thanks anyway!

I need to replace a Home Security camera system for my new home. The bad news is, despite only moving into the house that we built ourselves, ~2+ years ago, and having painstakingly installed an expensive EZVIZ 1080p NVR 8 camera / 16-channel camera system ... it was fried by a lightning strike awhile back. The good news is, we have pretty much hated this particular system since installation, so it's almost a relief that we have to replace it.

Obviously I am not an expert in cameras and home security systems (nor really networking to be quite honest, but I guess more than a novice...) -- and I guess we got lured into the fact that ~3 years ago when it was on sale, it was priced something like ~$2,700 on closeout sale for 50% off, $1,350, which obviously caught our attention. Also, the fact that it was an All-Up-Round system, NVR, came with 8 1080p cameras, but has 16 channels (so we could add from 1-8 more cameras at our leisure, etc.) Also the internet connectivity was important, as it was advertised as having fully connectivity and included mobile apps etc. It seemed perfect.