Home Server Build Questions (OS, filesystem, etc.)

Jonathanese

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2010
OK, so I'm about to upgrade my desktop, so I'm taking my old components and building a server.

Specs:
CPU: Core i5 3570K (Stock + voltage bump)
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1600 (Stock + voltage bump)
MOBO: ASUS P8Z77 Motherboard

WIFI: ASUS PCE-AC68
LAN: EXPI9402PT PRO dual gigabit adapter (+onboard gigabit ethernet)

Storage
1x 4TB WD drive (pulled from WD Elements external drive)
3x 1TB WD Blue
1x 60GB OCZ Agility 3 (I have 840 EVOs, but I figure they would be overkill for the OS)

Use Cases/Goals
- Home Router
- Internet Gateway
- Firewall
- Network-wide ad-blocking (Pi-Hole)
- File Server
- Plex Server
- Minecraft Server
- Home Automation (Home Assistant)
- SQL server
- General lab for learning backend programming (Java, PHP, Python, Node.js, etc)

Believe it or not, the last member of that list is my main motivation for all of this. I'm an electronics engineer and I want to expand my knowledge for better career paths.

Questions
1. What server OS would you (personally) recommend? I'm going to install Ubuntu Server tonight but would love to hear opinions.

2. Is ZFS recommended for this case? I'm quite impressed with it, but not sure if it is overkill for a home setting. (Experience is good, though.)

3. I also have an ASUS AC-68U router. Should I use this as my wireless AP, or is my add-in wireless card enough for me to basically sell the router?

4. What software should I consider for some of these functions? (I'm looking at pfSense)

5. What is a good GUI for managing things like storage and just keeping track of what's running? Home Assistant can add tabs for web GUI's, so a web GUI would be awesome.

And anything else. I'm totally interested in hearing what you guys have to say, or hear about your own projects. Or to hear about how I'm a dork who should be using nothing but CLI. All ears.

Jonathanese

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2010