Home theater PC components

Tscjcampbell

Honorable
Jan 28, 2014
Hello,
It's my first time building a PC, and I have a few questions. My intended immediate use will be to upload and store all of my pictures and videos, along with some light web browsing. But in the future I would like to be able to watch and record cable tv, with the use of a internal tv tuner card. This will be a home theater of sorts, with the monitor being my 47" LCD TV in my living room. My question is what motherboard, CPU, and Graphics card would be best. Any help would be awesome!
Thanks Tim

When designing the HTPC, you need to define what you want to record and how many tuners. There is basic cable (same as over the air signals, channels 2-99), digital cable (channels 100 - 9999 - may go higher) and true over the air. Digital cable will require a digital tuner (Hauppauge, Ceton and Silicon Dust make them), and will come in 2-4 tuner varieties. External tuners will reduce the amount of internal heat significantly (they run hot!).

As a rule of thumb, you should consider 1 processing core/thread, 2GB RAM and 90GB HDD for operating system. Add 1 processing core/thread and 1.5GB RAM for each HD stream. Most systems 1TB - 2TB of recording space is enough for standard HD TV viewing.

Also, if you go the digital cable route, Windows Media Center is the only way to watch & record all of the channels.

I would suggest AMD CPU/Mobo combo - onboard grahpics would be fine for your application. Here is an example of a build I recommended earlier:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2J3OL

Basic cable, depending upon your cable company, may only be SD channels - I have TWC, and to get any of the HD channels, you have to have a cable box or cable card. Blurry pictures shouldn't be a problem with any tuner using standard cable - although HD gives a tremendous difference in picture quality/clarity.

Tscjcampbell

Honorable
Jan 28, 2014