[SOLVED] Hooking up a GTX Geforce 1050 Ti Gaming to a PC externally.

Dec 21, 2018
Hello. Recently I bought a new GTX Geforce 1050 Ti Gaming with 2 fans expecting it to fit into my computer. It unfortunately did not fit and I was about to send it back and get a refund when I thought about hooking it up externally. I am new to the PC building scene so I don't know what would be best, however, I don't want to spend a ton more money on this if I don't have to. My question mainly is "Is it possible to hook up a Graphics Card to a computer through a USB connection?" I've seen eGPU units that aren't blocks, but rather little things similar to what you would plug a graphics card into that have connections for other things. (example: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6V85J95575&Description=external%20graphics%20card&cm_re=external_graphics_card-_-9SIA6V85J95575-_-Product) However, I want to know if there's a USB driven one, like one that would connect via a USB cable to my computer or if that's not possible, one that I could easily understand. If this makes any sense, please answer sooner rather than later as I would probably be returning my GTX Geforce 1050 if I don't have a solid answer soon. Thanks.

Solution
More information would be extremely helpful; you're asking for advice about problems connecting a GPU to a PC without telling us anything about the PC. Rob's advice is helpful, but everyone can be more helpful if we know the parts you used or even, if it's a prebuilt, the model of the prebuilt.

The six-pin is a connection from the power supply. If your power supply doesn't have one and your GPU in fact does, that's a pretty good indication that you'll need a new power supply; any power supply that you ought to be trusting with a GPU will have that cable.

My advice would also be to move the build to a new case. Having a GPU awkwardly connected outside the rig is something you do when you have your doctoral thesis on the PC and no...
Dec 21, 2018