How can I get files from a laptop without a working gpu to one with a working gpu?

Jul 24, 2018
I have two laptops. Laptop 1's gpu no longer works, and there are files on there I'd like to save. Laptop 2 works just fine. I have an HDMI cable and was wondering if I could somehow get the files from Laptop 1 to Laptop 2, or onto a flash drive. It's my first time on this site so I apologise if this is the wrong place to ask.

Solution
You would likely have to remove the hard drive from laptop 1 and either place it inside of laptop 2, or use a SATA to USB adapter (such as this one: https://www.neweggbusiness.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIV0E24TA7322&ignorebbr=1&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC-_-pla-_-Cables+-+USB+Cables-_-9SIV0E24TA7322&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgbTBheS43AIVA43ICh2hsgxHEAkYAyABEgLRLPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds) to connect the drive externally. What are the makes/models of the two laptops?
You would likely have to remove the hard drive from laptop 1 and either place it inside of laptop 2, or use a SATA to USB adapter (such as this one: https://www.neweggbusiness.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIV0E24TA7322&ignorebbr=1&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC-_-pla-_-Cables+-+USB+Cables-_-9SIV0E24TA7322&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgbTBheS43AIVA43ICh2hsgxHEAkYAyABEgLRLPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds) to connect the drive externally. What are the makes/models of the two laptops?

Solution

Bill Wendel

Distinguished
May 7, 2013