[SOLVED] How can I restore backup to a new SSD when the drive with my OS died?

mikeg1251

Commendable
Dec 9, 2018
I had a question posted here about ways to save my SSD that stopped showing up in the BIOS. I tried everything recommended, including power cycling to no avail. The consensus was that it has simply died with no hope of recovery.

Long story short, I shed some internal tears, got a refund from the manufacturer, and have bought myself a supposedly more dependable Samsung Evo 860. I have a semi-recent backup (not as recent as I'd like) of my dead SSD that had the OS on it. However, without the OS I obviously can't load Windows to restore the backup from the external hard drive.

I'm far from an expert, but I tried looking into what I can do from the BIOS, but haven't really found a solution (at least one that I understand or know will work). What is my best course of action here? Any help or nudge in the right direction would be much appreciated!

Solution
Yeah, I just got off with Toshiba tech support and that's exactly what they said. They said it isn't even meant to restore a whole system, just files. Definitely a bummer since it advertised a complete backup in case of disk failure. In the future I'm just going to save as restore points instead of that crap software.

It is the "Toshiba Canvio Advance HDTC920XR3AA 2TB".

Based on what I've found, all I can really do is reinstall Windows onto the new drive, then install the "Toshiba Backup Software" to restore the the rest of the files to the fresh Samsung 860 EVO. Unless you can think of any better way to go?
Yep, that is it.

Fresh OS install, and recover whatever the Toshiba thing saved...

Lutfij

Titan